A Health Scare

Without going into too much detail, I had a health scare this month.  I’ve been having “lady problems” for the last few months and I’ve had to visit the doctor three times in the last four months.  Well, my doctor was stumped with why all of this was suddenly happening and why I wasn’t getting completely well.  Well, last week I went back to the doctor because I was in terrible pain and I was bleeding, a lot.  She took lots of samples and sent them off for a lab test that basically tested for everything that could be wrong.  Something she mentioned was that she was really worried as to why my cervix was having so many issues.  She didn’t want to scare me, but cervical cancer did come up. 

Well, as you can imagine, all kinds of thoughts went through my mind in the last week.  My mother had a hysterectomy around 30 and I’ll be 33 next month.  I did not want to have that happen or to have cancer.  I’d really like to have a child or at the very least be able to have the option.

Finally, the doctor called yesterday and told me it was nothing major, but that the medicine she had been giving me wasn’t going to work on the strains of bacteria that was found on my cervix and in my urinary tract.  That was news to my ears!!  I didn’t have to worry about the dreaded C word or having a hysterectomy!!  I gladly went to Kroger Pharmacy after work and picked up my 4th and 5th antibiotics in less than a week.  Yep, I’ve taken a ton of antibiotics in the last week!!

Through all of this, I thought a lot about my faith and what it all meant.  I know that my little scare was tiny when compared to what God gives others.  I am so very thankful that I have my health and it’s only made me realize that I need to get back into reading The Bible more.  I’ve really slacked with that in the last few months and I really need to dig deeper into it.  I know that I’ve been through a lot in the last year and a half, but I know that I haven’t been alone in my trials.  He is always right there beside me.  That’s comforting and I need to do a better job of studying the word. 

With all of that being said, I made it half way through week 1 of half marathon training and have completely taken off of week 2.  Week 3 starts next week and I’m so ready to get back to running!

One thought on “A Health Scare

  1. Glad you’re okay! I had that happen to me before as well – my doctor was pretty insensitive when throwing around the “c” word. Thankfully it was nothing!

I love comments! Leave me some happiness! ;)

