Babies

I know most of y’all are heading over here from Kelly’s Corner and are expecting me to talk about babies, or lack thereof.  It’s not something I talk about often or hardly ever.  Obviously hubs and I don’t have any kids yet, but it’s not for lack of trying (since 2009ish).  I’ve had all of the bloodwork done and all of that jazz, everything is okay there.  So, what’s the next step?  Well, most of the people in our shoes usually head over and get the his numbers ran.  Not us. 

Honestly, we don’t see the point right now.  If there is something wrong in that area, we don’t want to know.  It’s best for US not to know what/who the cause is, because we’re not going to do any surgeries, etc to have things “fixed.”  We’re not going to go the IUI or IVF route, nor will we pump ourselves full of hormones either.  That route isn’t for us.  Not to step on anyone’s toes, but we don’t want to play God.  So, for now, we wait and see.  Of course I’m charting, taking the ovulation tests from time to time, and all of that jazz.  But otherwise we wait.  And, who knows, maybe we’re meant to adopt. 

Now y’all know a little more about me/us and our “situation,” why don’t y’all share a bit?!

7 thoughts on “Babies

  1. Mike says:

    My wife and I have been married for 13 years. She is the youngest of nine kids and has neices and nephews that are closer to her age than her sibilings. Early on in our marriage it was not that big of deal, but now that the “kids” are having children and she is getting older (36) it has really started bugging her. It does not help that my sister is in the process of having her 4th, which will be the 3rd “donor” and only one has come while she was married. We just continue to pray and hope the we will be blessed with a child when His time is right.

  2. Hey Shannon!

    Just to play devil’s advocate, but if you were sick with cancer, would you “play God’ and accept chemo or other treatments to help you fight it?

    I ask because I find it truly interesting when people have playing God as the reason they wouldn’t try ART (which is TOTALLY a personal decision and I’m not judging you for it one bit!)… but yet they’ll accept medical help for any other disease that afflicts them. I think this is part of the problem with society not accepting that IF is a disease that affects 1 in 6 couples… b/c even some of us afflicted with it have trouble accepting help for it.

    Just food for thought. 🙂

    Josey

    • I understand where you’re coming from, but when you’re accepting medicine for say…cancer, you’re not creating a life inside of you. That’s just our thoughts on it… I don’t want to really go into it all, because it’s just our personal thoughts. It’s just not right for US. 🙂

  3. Obviously, I’m currently pregnant from IVF. I know it’s everyone’s own opinion but I don’t really look at it as “playing God” because God has a plan for all of us and we felt this was in our “plan.” Matt and I prayed about it, took our time making our decision and did what we felt God led us to do.

    I had the whole “playing God” thought too and when our first IVF didn’t work, I talked to our preacher who explained it by saying that God gave doctors the knowledge and wisdom to be able to perform the things they can. It’s when we let it take over our life and lose our relationship with God that it can be a negative thing.

    What I’ve learned from infertility is that each couple is different. What Matt and I feel was best for our family, may not be best for your family or anyone else. You really just have to make the best decision for you, your husband and your future family. Good luck in your journey! Love ya Shan!

  4. i was having trouble commenting last night… i think it was my internet, not you.

    anyway, kids are definitely a personal thing in many ways – so do what works for you! there will always be someone who disagrees with you, but as long as you’re doing what’s best for you and your family – press on!

    i know it’s tough to be in your situation but stay patient – God has a plan for you!

  5. I know exactly how you feel about not trying to play God. My husband and I went to a RE last spring and did 4-5 cycles of mild meds. We too agreed that we didn’t really want to do IUI or IVF. A lot of people try to do all that they can, and that is fine for them, but just not what we felt we were supposed to do. After the diagnostic laproscopy which revealed nothing was wrong with us, we just knew it wasn’t God’s timing. God knows exactly what he is doing and his timing is indeed perfect!

  6. Jenny says:

    We are currently facing infertiltiy as well. All my tests came back normal. However, our problem is male factor, which we found out through a semen analysis. My husband had a varicocele that was fixed with a simple outpatient surgery. His doctor believes that it will solve the problem. Hopefully we won’t need to do IVF, although we will if neccessary. I am telling you this because I can understand how assisted reproduction can be considered “playing god”. However, I consider treating a medical issue to be in a different category. I recommend at least having all the information even if you don’t act on it. But I also understand that everyone has different feelings and situations.

I love comments! Leave me some happiness! ;)

