Counting Calories

I’ve been counting calories off and on for the last 6 years.  It helps to keep me motivated, in check, and lose weight when trying.  Well, I haven’t been counting them for the past 6 months or so and it’s time to start back up.  The other day Rust Belt Runner told the blog world about Calorie Count.  It’s a pretty cool site.  I’ve used the Livestrong calorie counter and to be honest, I just didn’t like it. 

Anyways, I  thought I’d share with you what a typical few days looks like for me. 

Keep in mind that I’m not really giving it my all.  I’m just trying to see exactly what I’m eating and making a few adjustments here and there.  I’m basically keeping myself in check.  Also, this is only my calorie count up till dinner.  Whenever I cook, we eat “healthy-ish” meals (read: low in calories and fat, with steamed veggies).  Most of the recipes I’ve cooked, I’ve done a calorie count on and it’s always, always, always under 500-600 calories for each serving.  And honestly, that’s pushing it.  I usually cook Weight Watcher meals and we all know those are low in calories for the most part.

I’ll shut up now and show you Wednesday – Today.  You’ll notice I have a few cheat items in there.  I’m an emotional eater and we’re having very rough days at work.  Also, I know that not everything is healthy.  There is all kinds of artificial sweeteners in my drinks and foods.  Again, I’m not a uber healthy, gluten free, vegetarian eater.  Judge away.  πŸ™‚  Also, I drink my minimum 64 ozs of water each and every day.  I don’t put that on here, but I do it.  I live with a water-holic.  πŸ™‚

post signature

4 thoughts on “Counting Calories

  1. Nice to see you got the images goin! If I was on your meal plan I would have ate all of that by 10 a.m. LOL. I am hungry all the time! I have found I need like 300 cal for a decent breakfast these days.Good job on going back to the count. I'm sure it will help you figure out where you need to be.

  2. Dang girl, like clockwork! Do you ever get bored eating the same thing? I have serious boredom issues with food – as in I eat it when I'm bored, and I get bored of what I'm eating after 2 seconds. Oh wells.

  3. Counting calories definitely works best for me as well. I fell off that bandwagon the past 9 months, but I'm so excited to finally make my health a priority again. Quinoa has been a GREAT addition to our diets – we both feel better with less gluten in our diets, and it's such a great source of protein and supplement to a lot of different meals. You might want to check it out!

I love comments! Leave me some happiness! ;)

